MEMORY upgrade!

Hardware hacks, chipset information and other hardware related topics.

Postby JedOi » Sun Mar 05, 2006 3:26 am

Excellent tutorial there mallu boy.

I would never have thought of soldering diode leads or similar to the entire row of pins to apply heat to them all at the same time. I will be attempting a memory graft myself soon on a broken player I just got from eBay for £0.01 (+£5 postage) hehehe ...

Very nicely done and thank you my friend :D
User avatar
JedOi
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 582
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2005 4:47 am
Location: UK

Postby mallu boy » Sun Mar 05, 2006 7:18 am

santhosh:

Yes I plugged it in without any memory chips. The chip in the display board was never there, and I had just removed the chip on the main board.
s1 mp3 player stickered 256 mb, actually 128 with 2005.08.28 board, atj2051 - now 1000 Mb after chip replacement. Instructions on soldering memory chips here: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=1592&st=0&sk=t&sd=a&start=23
mallu boy
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 4:07 am
Location: Thiruvananthapuram

Postby santosh0705 » Sun Mar 05, 2006 6:49 pm

Tomorrow I’ll also remove the Flash memory from my player and will see what happens when plugging to the USB.
santosh0705
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 4:26 pm
Location: India

Postby santosh0705 » Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:59 am

classicsat wrote:You don't have to remove the chip just to test. Just lift the CE pin on the NAND Flash chip, and pull it to VCC. Or cut the line and re-join it.


thats true, but Im replacing the Chip.
santosh0705
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 4:26 pm
Location: India

Postby moko » Mon Mar 06, 2006 11:57 am

So, what are you saying exactly, is it possible to add or replace a chip without actually "killing" the player? all we have to do is plug it and flash the dump or do I need a complete "official" firmware? I should receive my 1GB player until this weekend and I'd really like to upgrade it to 2GB but I'm afraid to kill the player...
moko
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2006 5:47 pm

Postby santosh0705 » Mon Mar 06, 2006 12:42 pm

Whatever mallu boy have posted is absolutely correct. Today I removed the Flash memory from my player and plugged to the USB and it recognised as an ADFU device, and there were no LCD display. I've tested it with all the USB ports and even restarting the PC too, all the time it recognised as an ADFU device.
santosh0705
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 4:26 pm
Location: India

Postby santosh0705 » Mon Mar 06, 2006 8:47 pm

mallu boy wrote:Image


with above picture it seems that your board no. is MAIN V0.1 and CPU is ATJ2051. Pls. confirm it.
santosh0705
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 4:26 pm
Location: India

Postby mallu boy » Tue Mar 07, 2006 9:52 am

see my sig. 8)
s1 mp3 player stickered 256 mb, actually 128 with 2005.08.28 board, atj2051 - now 1000 Mb after chip replacement. Instructions on soldering memory chips here: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=1592&st=0&sk=t&sd=a&start=23
mallu boy
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 4:07 am
Location: Thiruvananthapuram

Postby santosh0705 » Tue Mar 07, 2006 3:34 pm

mallu boy wrote:see my sig. 8)

Your board no. is incomplete, this is MAIN V0.1 2005.08.28. See it below the thin cable connecting the LCD board, you will find this no.
santosh0705
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 4:26 pm
Location: India

Postby santosh0705 » Tue Mar 07, 2006 3:44 pm

Do ATJ2051 support 1GB? Is there any one have ATJ2051 with 1GB?
santosh0705
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 4:26 pm
Location: India

I need one 512 MB or 1GB Flash Chip.

Postby susantabeura » Fri Mar 17, 2006 3:32 am

htel wrote:I have 15 512mb chips (samsung K9k4g08um) for the first 15 people who may want them. (Use at your own risk of course)

I am giving them away for the community for their help with resolving a significant issue I once had.

I gave a little donation to wire for his efforts too.

Pm with your address and I'll post one out.


Hi htel,
Can you please send me a 512MB or 1GB Flash Chip. And how much it will cost to me and how can i send you the payment.

Please let me know the details
Susanta K Beura
Bhubaneswar-India
[Bhubaneswar is the Temple City of India]
User avatar
susantabeura
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 4:44 am
Location: bhubaneswar, India

Postby Omanicron » Fri Mar 24, 2006 9:59 pm

Hi, here is my experience on memory upgrade :)
I have a 128MB S1mp3 with atj2051 chip from ODYS.
It has a blue pcb and the marking lcd 9002-ac2051 main v3 - (could also be v2, there is a hole in the number, but looks more like v3)
Firmware is 3.0.45

I ordered an 1GByte chip from htel and installed it in the 2nd slot.
After power on, the player was stuck on the starting text. When connected to pc, it first wanted to install ADFU drivers, but the installer hang. Reconnected and it was recognized as mobile memory with 128mb.
Formatted with the HP tool, gave 620mb.
Flashed my backed up firmware back and the mp3 player started good and recognizes 620mb.

I dont know why 512mb are missing, maybe the 2051 chip or firmware cant handle more then 1gb, or its because i have 2 chips with different sizes. But 600mb is enough for me and more then 128mb :P

As tip, i copied a 600mb file to it and read back, and made a crc32 check. While the file (movie) showed no errors in playing, the crc revealed there were some bytes corrupted. I soldered every pin again, then checked the crc cpying again and now it works fine.
Omanicron
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 10:26 am

Postby Omanicron » Fri Mar 24, 2006 10:07 pm

codertux wrote:why don't you replace the main chip? you should get a 1gb player... back up the firmware if you decide to do that...


Well the player is going to be a present. And im afraid to damage it when trying to unsolder both memory chips now. But i have a 2nd player and will try to upgrade that too with a 1gb chip.
Omanicron
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 10:26 am

Piggy-Backing chips...

Postby High Compression II » Fri Jul 21, 2006 6:35 pm

With the ATJ2085, there are three memo chip enable lines....

When 'piggy-backing, shouldnt we connect pin 9, the memo chip enable to the CL2 pin of the ATJ, rather than connecting it to pin 10 of the 'lower' chip?
The 'main' memo chip is on CL1...

If this is correct, (Ill try when my two chips arrive,!) then it may be possible to 'piggy-back' three chips, each on its own 'CL' pin of the ATJ.....'

Just a thought......
High Compression II
Beginner
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 11:03 pm
Location: Swansea South Wales

Postby High Compression II » Sun Jul 23, 2006 3:47 pm

htel wrote:I tried for a bit of fun putting an extra 1gb to make a 2gb player. I removed a link (smd 0ohm 'resistor') and placed it in another spot. I copied a 1gb player that had 2x512mb nand flashes. Alas no joy, either the firmware limits the memory or I did something wrong.

I use hot air to remove chips which is real quick. I have seen people use a paint stripper but it can do damage if you overheat.

When you solder back on, solder, solder and resolder - it has to go on well or it won't work.



Been in contact with Htel, who is a great guy to deal with....

He's also looking out for a Sigmatel chip for an old player I have, Great guy.....

Got 2 1Gig chips coming so Ill try and experiment around to use both on the lines of above.....
High Compression II
Beginner
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 11:03 pm
Location: Swansea South Wales

PreviousNext

Return to Hardware (Hacks, information, fixes)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest



cron