Decreased player memory? read here!

Hardware hacks, chipset information and other hardware related topics.

Decreased player memory? read here!

Postby Crunchy » Thu Nov 10, 2005 4:10 pm

There is a known problem with the s1mp3 players, currently going under the name of "the memory issue"

After uploading stuff to the player, it restarts, showing a lot of weird stuff on the screen. after that, you find that your memory has been reduced.
(to 128/256/512 MB).
we do not understand this problem fully, but there are some topics on it already:

http://s1mp3.secret.com.br/forum/viewtopic.php?t=66
http://s1mp3.secret.com.br/forum/viewtopic.php?t=349

edit ian_hawdon: also if your memory had decreased please vot in this poll: http://s1mp3.secret.com.br/forum/viewtopic.php?t=503
things to do before I die:
1) achieve immortality
all other things can wait

player:
512MB, no FM, 7 colours, 3 animations
board number: LJD-02+3V0.2 2005-01-28
User avatar
Crunchy
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 563
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 11:00 pm
Location: Nijmegen, Netherlands, Europe

Re: Decreased player memory? read here!

Postby windom » Sat Jan 28, 2006 2:07 am

Crunchy wrote:we do not understand this problem fully, but there are some topics on it already:

http://s1mp3.secret.com.br/forum/viewtopic.php?t=66
http://s1mp3.secret.com.br/forum/viewtopic.php?t=349

edit ian_hawdon: also if your memory had decreased please vot in this poll: http://s1mp3.secret.com.br/forum/viewtopic.php?t=503

Links update:

viewtopic.php?t=66 Player Problem [AKA: the original memory issue topic]
viewtopic.php?t=349 decreased Player memory
viewtopic.php?t=503 Memory decreased, ONLY VOTE IF YOUR MEMORY HAS DECREASED!!!!
viewtopic.php?t=892 About the decreasing memory problem
User avatar
windom
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 1:43 am
Location: Bogotá, Colombia

Postby JedOi » Sat Jan 28, 2006 11:27 am

Nice post windom, good to have all the links in one place ;)
User avatar
JedOi
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 582
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2005 4:47 am
Location: UK

Memory loss explained?question

Postby zikmaster » Sat Feb 11, 2006 4:27 pm

Sorry for my english i'm from poland...
Dadza so you say to just format to FAT32??and memory of my player will back to normal??I've tried that and nothing happened...But there's got to be a solution for this problem if some people say that when the player was new they have their full memory filled up to max and it worked...
zikmaster
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 4:22 pm

The FINAL answer

Postby legolas558 » Fri Feb 17, 2006 6:43 pm

They are damaged memory chips recycled and put on s1mp3s. If you can send back to the manufacturer, they will replace the product
--
Legolas558
User avatar
legolas558
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 4:42 pm

Postby wladston » Tue Feb 21, 2006 12:37 am

:O :O :O

Man, reclycled!!!! OMG .... how do you know it ?
1GB Standard s1 mp3 player. (MP-482C MAIN V8)
1GB "mp4" s1mp3 player. Not remarked.
I DO __NOT__ reply to PM's. Send email instead. I won't be even notified for new PM's.
User avatar
wladston
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1721
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 8:54 pm
Location: Belo Horizonte, MG - Brazil

Postby legolas558 » Tue Feb 21, 2006 12:39 am

wladston wrote::O :O :O

Man, reclycled!!!! OMG .... how do you know it ?


ilMastro told me
--
Legolas558
User avatar
legolas558
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 4:42 pm

Postby wladston » Tue Feb 21, 2006 12:42 am

HUM..... contacts ...
1GB Standard s1 mp3 player. (MP-482C MAIN V8)
1GB "mp4" s1mp3 player. Not remarked.
I DO __NOT__ reply to PM's. Send email instead. I won't be even notified for new PM's.
User avatar
wladston
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1721
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 8:54 pm
Location: Belo Horizonte, MG - Brazil

Postby altean » Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:34 am

legolas558 wrote:
wladston wrote::O :O :O

Man, reclycled!!!! OMG .... how do you know it ?


ilMastro told me


Actually he's right. Lot of those manufacturers trying to pass the bad buck around and it's usually end up in yer pocket.
we used to build a lot of rams for diff companies and they just sent whatever batch made it out sometimes.
Most of the times are not intentional but they don't do inspections on each part being put in diff players.
sometimes the better yield will go to the highest bidder and the rest..well you know that :)
so if you read the pdf on the chips or if you know the markings on the chips you will know what you are getting.
mine is a hynix 4gb flash (HY27UG084G2M)formats to 1.95gig under winxp.
load tested and stable.
Things you can't get enough of --> harddrive space, memory, processor speed and video-3D rendering power.
User avatar
altean
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 5:15 am
Location: you like it up here, eh?nice and cool like my beer :P

Postby altean » Sat Jul 22, 2006 8:28 am

altean wrote:
legolas558 wrote:
wladston wrote::O :O :O

Man, reclycled!!!! OMG .... how do you know it ?


ilMastro told me


Actually he's right. Lot of those manufacturers trying to pass the bad buck around and it's usually end up in yer pocket.
we used to build a lot of rams for diff companies and they just sent whatever batch made it out sometimes.
Most of the times are not intentional but they don't do inspections on each part being put in diff players.
sometimes the better yield will go to the highest bidder and the rest..well you know that :)
so if you read the pdf on the chips or if you know the markings on the chips you will know what you are getting.
mine is a hynix 4gb flash (HY27UG084G2M)formats to 1.95gig under winxp.
load tested and stable.


i found out why it was stable.they are using some sort of software compression.pretty smart. I had removed the boot table and modded the bin and reformatted the chip again. now it came to 486 megs under winxp.
thats why i was wondering about how could a 512 flash chip hold 2 gig stable.well im just gonna buy a bigger flash the pin layout are the same anyways.since i do hardware and design it holds no challenge for me anyways. I just feel sry for all those poor ppl who shelled out all this money (on ebay mostly) and got ******** royally.
I could only hope that they did not pay more than 50-60 bucks for it.
and remember... if something 250 bucks in the store,
(like bestbuy) than it is the real thing. go buy it and stop screwing around on ebay with all those ******** scammers.
good luck to ya all. :)
Things you can't get enough of --> harddrive space, memory, processor speed and video-3D rendering power.
User avatar
altean
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 5:15 am
Location: you like it up here, eh?nice and cool like my beer :P

device write protected

Postby sunsuprim » Fri Oct 27, 2006 12:15 pm

i do every thing but no success the s1fw show that the device is write protected please help me to open the write protected mode.
sunsuprim
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 12:09 pm

I understand the problem...

Postby Mugged » Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:27 am

...its called A SCAM!

Sorry I couldn't be more CONSTRUCTIVE, but lets just call a spade a spade, shall we!

I bought one of these "mp3 players"... 1 Gigabyte of course... lucky if I get 120mb storage of either mp3 or data, oh and its USB1.1 not 2.0.

And yes, I've spent the last day or so reading up on all the comments and methods of supposedly formatting/reformatting/upgrading firmware/downgrading firmware/writing your own edits/saving portions of memory off & emailing it to someone, but lets all just face facts...

...its called A SCAM!

So maybe - (before it breaks) I'll crack it open and find out which memory chip is inside, then I can post a message on this board about it...

...maybe if you have a spare memory chip around I can buy it from you...
...after all I've been SCAMMED once already, why not SCAM me again!

So why not just give up - oh little professors of the forum...

...its called A SCAM!
Don't try to sugar-coat it - you been conned!
Mugged
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 7:58 am
Location: InTeRwEb!

ARE YOU READY FOR THE TRUTH???

Postby Mugged » Mon Oct 30, 2006 5:21 pm

LET ME JUST EXPLAIN SOMETHING TO YOU ALL!!!

IN MEMORY TERMS: 1 BYTE = 8 BITS

So...

1 GigaByte = 1024 MegaBytes
AND...
1 Gigabit = 128 Megabytes

HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!
HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!
HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!
HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!
HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!HA!
Don't try to sugar-coat it - you been conned!
Mugged
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 7:58 am
Location: InTeRwEb!

help

Postby koguldev » Sat Dec 30, 2006 12:16 am

my mp4 went from 1gb to 256 mb
User avatar
koguldev
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 7:09 pm


Return to Hardware (Hacks, information, fixes)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest



cron